About Shama

Shama Ethnic Women’s Trust (commonly known as Shama) is a charitable trust formed in 2002 after the identification of a gap in available services for ethnic women and children that are run by ethnic women. The founding members of Shama recognised that the challenges faced by ethnic women are complex and unique, and their needs often sit outside what is catered for by mainstream social services and support programmes.  

Shama aims to support the development of a truly multi-cultural New Zealand where all women from ethnic minorities would be fully integrated into New Zealand society, to live lives of dignity, free from fear of violence and discrimination, and to be recognised as valuable contributors to their local communities.  

Our Objectives

The primary objective of Shama is to be a vibrant, sustainable social service organisation that provides culturally-appropriate support, advocacy, and programmes to ethnic women, their children and families, and to be a source of strength and empowerment for ethnic women of all ages.

While Shama provides specialist support for those experiencing violence, it takes a holistic approach to the needs of women, their children and families. Shama is a community hub for hundreds of ethnic families in the Hamilton area, as we provide peer-to-peer support for ethnic women through the running of regular classes in crafts, cooking, as well as the parent support.

The programmes currently provided by Shama fall into three categories:

  1. Skills based programmes: English language and conversation, computer support, gardening, cooking, and sewing classes.
  2. Support programmes: parent support, school holiday programmes,  legal and domestic violence workshops.
  3. Individual support: one-on-one support is provided to ethnic women, children and their families by trained social workers.

Our Vision

For all ethnic women in New Zealand to achieve their aspiration as Mana Wahine, to be respected and welcomed into their communities and the wider community, free from fear, prejudice and violence.

Our Mission

To provide culturally-appropriate support, advocacy, and programmes to ethnic women, their children and families, and to be a source of strength and empowerment for ethnic women of all ages.

Our Team

Staff

Maria Cristina Rodriguez (Maki) Directordirector@shama.org.nz

Zola Rose Community Development Facilitatorprojects@shama.org.nz

Janet Jenkins Social Workersocialworker2@shama.org.nz

Courtney Sheriff Social Work Placement Studentplacement@shama.org.nz

Jennifer Witt-Leafa Support Workersupportworker@shama.org.nz

Fariya Begum – National Sexual Violence Crisis Coordinator for Ethnic Communities – crisis1@shama.org.nz

Juanita Rojas National Sexual Violence Crisis Coordinator for Ethnic Communitiescrisis2@shama.org.nz

Joanna Jensen Sexual Violence Therapeutic Coordinator for Ethnic Communitiessvtherapy@shama.org.nz

Anindita Dey-Sinha Counsellorcounsellor@shama.org.nz

Madiha Ali Youth Workeryouthworker@shama.org.nz

Ushaa Sridharan Volunteering and HR Coordinatorhrcoordinator@shama.org.nz

Shaleshni Sharma Finance Administrator and Centre Coordinator – administrator@shama.org.nz

Jeanie Tseng Administratorinfo@shama.org.nz

Board of Trustees

  • Maria Crasta – Chair
  • Gladys Stephens – Treasurer
  • Arezou Zalipour – Secretary
  • Anthea Fester
  • Priya Kurian
  • Rachel Simon-Kumar
  • Dr Sarkaw Mohammad
  • Anjum Rahman

Support the work that Shama does in the community

Exit Site